Skip to main content

Add Me To Your Mailing List
HomeMcFarland Award

Chief Justice Kay McFarland Award

Please join us in congratulating the 2017 Chief Justice Kay McFarland Award Recipient, Anne McDonald.

(Pictured here with 2013 recipient, Judge Karen Arnold-Burger and 2016-17 WAAT President Rachel Pickering)

In 2006, the Women Attorneys Association of Topeka created the Chief Justice Kay McFarland Award to honor her many accomplishments in the legal field.

The award recognizes an individual who has achieved professional excellence in her field and has influenced other women to pursue legal careers, opened doors for women lawyers in a variety of job settings that historically were closed to them, or advanced opportunities for women within a practice area or segment of the profession.


Past recipients:
2016:  Professor Linda Elrod
2015:  Judge Rebecca A. Sanders
2014:  Marty M. Snyder 
2013:  Judge Karen Arnold-Burger

2012:  Martha Hodgesmith

2011:  Carol Ruth Bonebrake

2010:  Carol Foreman

2009:  Judge Evelyn Z. Wilson

2008:  Judge Christel E. Marquardt

2007:  Justice Marla Luckert

2006:  Chief Justice Kay McFarland

 Remembering Chief Justice Kay McFarland      



On August 18, 2015, former Chief Justice Kay McFarland passed away at the age of 80. A charter member of this organization, Justice McFarland blazed the trail that many female attorneys now walk. She was the first woman elected to serve as a judge in Shawnee County, the first woman in Kansas to serve as a district judge, and the first and only female chief justice on the Kansas Supreme Court. Justice McFarland represented all the tenets of this organization and inspired many women to follow in her very prestigious footsteps. The McFarland Award is named for Justice McFarland and celebrates all the qualities she embodied. As women in the legal profession, we owe her a debt of gratitude that cannot be repaid.


     Facebook  Twitter  
Upcoming Events
Upcoming Events